Spooner Row Primary

Enrich Learning Trust

We are building a collaborative family of schools.

Visit Site


You can contact Martyn Lemon, Chair of Governors by email chairofgov@spoonerrow.norfolk.sch.uk or via the school.

or emailing the school office office@spoonerrow.norfolk.sch.uk

Alternatively, you can telephone the school office 01953 603356

Chair of local governing body


Shared with

Appointed by



Martyn Lemon

Not recorded

Appointed by GB/board

25 March 2019

24 March 2023

Local governors


Shared with

Appointed by



John Waterman


Elected by parents

21 July 2020

20 July 2024

Lawrence Yorke  


Appointed by foundation/Trust

9th February 2023

8th February 2027

Josie Dye


Elected by parents

25th March 2023

24th March 2027

Lisa Newbery


Elected by school staff

1 May 2021

30 April 2025

Trisha Colchester


Appointed by foundation/Trust

1 May 2021

30 April 2025


Martyn Lemon – Chair



He has special responsibility for Health and Safety and Prevent.


Martyn regularly monitors Computing, Maths, Staff Well-Being, RE and SMSC.

John Waterman

Josie Dye

Josie regularly monitors Arts, Design Technology, Music, Literacy and Humanities.

Alex Seager

Alex is Ex Officio governor.

Lisa Newbery

Lisa is a staff governor.


Lisa is Subject Leader for PE, EYFS, Staff Wellbeing and regularly monitors assessment.

Trisha Colchester

Trisha holds responsibility for SEND, is the Cluster Governor representative and regularly monitors EYFS.

Christopher Perry-Yates

Chris is Clerk to the Governors.



Former Governors


Stepped Down

Roger Harris

3 September 2021

Caroline Saint

July 2020

Steve Gowers

Stepped down as Chair September 2019

Bridget Hanton

Ex Officio

Bryony Best


What do we do? 

Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body of Spooner Row Primary School

As defined by the Department of Education (DfE) in The School Governance (Roles. Procedures and Allowances) (England) Regulations 2013; the core functions of the governing body include:

Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and it’s pupils; and

Ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources.

Governance Arrangements The Local Governing Body (LGB) is made up of 2 staff governors (including the head teacher), 2 elected parent governors, 2 co-opted governors.  Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body and are people, who, in the opinion of the governing body have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Chair Of Governors:  Martyn Lemon (Co-opted)

Staff Governors:  Lisa Newbery

Co-opted Governor:  Tricia Colchester

Parent Governor: Josie Dye

Attendance Record of Governors Governors have excellent attendance at meetings.

Attendance of individual governors is published on the school website.

The Governors are also invited to accompany students on school trips, attend assemblies and other events such as Sports Day and Christmas Plays.

Clerk The clerk to the governors is Christopher Perry-Yates.
Area of Responsibilities

Special Educational Needs – Tricia Colchester

Well being – Martyn Lemon

Health and Safety – Martyn Lemon

Meetings We meet 5 times a year, at least once in each term.  In addition the Chair of Governors meets the Headteacher on a regular basis as well as other Chairs within the Enrich Learning Trust.

Since joining the Enrich Learning Trust we no longer have specialist committees but meet as a Local Governing Body more regularly.

Our agendas include policy reviews, feedback from subject monitoring, progress data reviews, finance updates and any other current matters.

Achievements for 2018/19 This year we have had a few changes in staffing on the governing body.   We have ensured that the governing body is full and existing governors have continued to monitor subject areas and attended required training.

We have attended many trips (including the residential to Hill Top) and sporting events, seeing a wide range of students thrive and achieve.

Focus for 2019/20 Following on from the formation of the Parish Council of Spooner Row, Suton and Wattlefield we would like to work with them and the local community to take the school forward.  In particular focusing on the concerns over car parking, safety of the children, access to open spaces and potential improvements to the learning environment.

We would also like to develop a regular governors’ newsletter for parents.

Contact We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents, please contact the Chair of Governors, Martyn Lemon via the email chairofgov@spoonerrow.norfolk.sch.uk or via the school office.

Governors' Attendance at Meetings 2021-2022

Governor Interests Declaration